Career Timeline

Zhang Liyin was originally recruited into DR Music back in 2003-2004, but left the company by signing a contract with SM Entertainment instead. She debuted on September 9, 2006, after nearly 3 years of training.

2006–2017: SM Entertainment

  • Debuted September 9 with the single “Timeless”, featuring former TVXQ member, Xiah Junsu.
  • Won first-ever award on SBS Inkigayo for “Timeless”.
  • Won Rookie of the Month award from Cyworld, for the month of September.
  • Won Best New Solo Artist award from Mnet Asian Music Awards (MAMA), for “Timeless”.
  • Performed in China for the first time.
  • Performed follow-up single “Y (Why…)” on Korean music shows.
  • Performed in Beijing, China for the first time.
  • Performed “Timeless” with Xiah Junsu for the last time.
  • Performed at the first SMTOWN concert, held in Seoul on June 30 and July 1.
  • Released first full album, I Will.
  • Held first-ever album showcase, hosted by pre-debut Super Junior-M member, Zhou Mi.
  • Appeared on her first TV variety show, Jiangsu TV’s Super Star, followed by appearances on Hunan TV’s Yue Ce Yue Kai Xin, and Guangdong’s Star.
  • Won the ‘Female Newcomer with the Most Potential’ award from Music King Awards.
  • Won Best Mainland Newcomer at the Fujian Southeast Music Ranking.
  • Won Most Popular Female Singer at the Tencent Star Ceremony.
  • Won Most ‘Attention Grabbing’ Newcomer at the Top Chinese Music Awards.
  • Performed “TRI-ANGLE” and “I Will” at the Taipei stop in TVXQ’s concert tour.
  • Performed at SMTOWN concerts in Seoul and Shanghai.
  • Performed at SMTOWN concerts in Taiwan and Seoul.
  • Performed at SMTOWN concert in Beijing.

2018–Present: Return to China

  • Released a duet single, “Lonely”, with Chinese singer Henry Huo.
  • Released the song, “The Answer”, an interlude song for the Chinese television drama The Remedy.
  • Released the song “For Dear You”, a soundtrack song for the Chinese television drama Once Given Never Forgotten.
  • Released the song, “Light of Life”, a recommended song by the city of Chengdu, Sichuan.
  • Released the single, “The Tide of Life”. 
  • Left Beijing S.W. Culture Media after two years, and confirmed that she had signed with Xunfei Music.
  • Released the singles: “Sanxingdui”, “Flowers Aglow”, “You Who Passed Through My World”, “Obviously”, “The Whale that Fell from the Stars”, and “The Solitude of Klein Blue”.
  • Released the song, “Emotion”, her first Korean-language single since 2014, through the Adding Memory Project. 
  • Released four different songs within the first three months: “Green Growing Upwards”, “Where Has Forever Gone”, “Be Unfaithful to One’s Word”, and “Give It to TA”.